ECB reference rates, as of 4 Nov 2026 (daily fix, not live quotes)

Skip to content
Compare brokers

FCA register checked

Forex brokers UK: check any broker on the FCA register

All UK forex brokers must have FCA authorisation. Select a broker to check its register listing, see which clone firms copy it and learn the share of retail accounts that lose money.

Not in the list? Search the FCA register for any firm name.

A trading desk at night with curved monitors showing candlestick charts above the lit City of London
GBP/USDECB reference rate

1.3500

+0.66% on 3 Nov 2026

30 daily fixes, 24 Sep 2026 to 4 Nov 2026 · as of 4 Nov 2026

12
FCA authorised
13
brokers compared
50
clone firms flagged
70%
average retail accounts losing money

UK forex brokers side by side

  • Spread betting
    8.6/10
    0.5 pipstypical
    None statedforex
    Not stated
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 434413 · since 27 Oct 2005
    69%
  • Spread betting
    8.5/10
    Not stated
    None
    £20
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 793714 · since 26 Oct 2018
    65%
  • Spread betting
    8.6/10
    0.0 pipsfrom
    NoneFX Active: 0.0025%
    Not stated
    MetaTrader 4TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 173730 · since 1 Dec 2001
    69%
  • 8.3/10
    0.005% per trademinimum
    Not stated
    £50
    Own platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 583263 · since 9 May 2013
    55%
  • Spread betting
    8.9/10
    Not stated
    NoneRaw+: $3.5/lot/side
    No minimum
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5cTraderTradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 509956 · since 10 Sep 2010
    75%
  • 5.9/10
    Not stated
    Not stated
    Not stated
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5cTraderTradingView
    CancelledFRN 827935 · since 11 Dec 2023
    Not published
  • Spread betting
    8.9/10
    0.6 pipsminimum
    NoneShares: 0.10%
    £250
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 114059 · since 1 Dec 2001
    70%
  • Spread betting
    9.1/10
    0.0 pipsminimum
    NoneRazor: from £2.25/lot/side
    £10
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5cTraderTradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 684312 · since 5 Aug 2015
    73.6%
  • 7.8/10
    Not stated
    Not stated
    Not stated
    Own platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 509909 · since 29 Jun 2010
    76%
  • Spread betting
    8.4/10
    0.6 pipsfrom
    None statedpay via the spread
    £5
    TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 190941 · since 1 Dec 2001
    64%
  • 7.4/10
    Not stated
    Free
    £10
    Own platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 609146 · since 1 Oct 2014
    75%
  • Spread betting
    8.0/10
    1.4 pipsfrom
    NoneRAW: from $1/lot/side
    $50
    MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5TradingViewOwn platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 590299 · since 1 Jul 2013
    72.65%
  • 7.9/10
    Not stated
    Not stated
    No minimum
    Own platform or app
    AuthorisedFRN 522157 · since 17 Jan 2011
    74%

This list stays in alphabetical order until you sort it and isn't a ranking. Each broker's own spreads, deposits and loss figures are shown, along with the date we read them. How we make money.

How the score is worked out

Scores out of 10 average up to seven categories. Each category is marked 0 to 10 using figures the broker publishes or that the FCA register holds. Regulation covers authorised status, years on the register and clone firms. Costs use the lowest published EUR/USD spread. Entry cost covers the minimum deposit. Platforms counts how many are offered. Protection covers negative balance protection and the share of losing accounts each broker reports. Funding covers deposit methods plus free withdrawals. App and support covers the iPhone rating, demo account and support channels.). We leave out any category without a published figure instead of marking it down. It reflects data rather than a recommendation, and the list stays alphabetical until you sort it.

What the brokers publish, charted

EUR/USD spread from. Each broker's lowest stated amount, in pips (points for spread-bet accounts).
  • CMC Markets0.0
  • Pepperstone0.0
  • ActivTrades0.5
  • IG0.6
  • Spreadex0.6
  • Vantage1.4

Work out what a spread costs you

Retail client accounts that lose money. As each broker reports it, read 2 Nov 2026, starting with the lowest.
  • eToro55%
  • Spreadex64%
  • Capital.com65%
  • ActivTrades69%
  • CMC Markets69%
  • IG70%
  • Vantage72.65%
  • Pepperstone73.6%
  • XTB74%
  • FxPro75%
  • Trading 21275%
  • Plus50076%

Check a firm on the FCA register

Minimum deposit. Shown in pounds, according to the broker's UK site.
  • FxProNone
  • XTBNone
  • Spreadex£5
  • Pepperstone£10
  • Trading 212£10
  • Capital.com£20
  • eToro£50
  • Vantage£50
  • IG£250
FCA-listed firms that imitate a broker's name.
  • Plus50012
  • XTB9
  • eToro5
  • Spreadex4
  • Trading 2124
  • Vantage4
  • FxPro3
  • Pepperstone3
  • ActivTrades2
  • CMC Markets2
  • Capital.com1
  • IC Markets1
  • IG0

Is forex trading legal in the UK?

UK caps on position size per pound of margin, and the margin each needs

Margin required under each FCA retail cap on position size
MarketMax leverageMargin neededTo hold a £10,000 position
Major currency pairs30:13.33%£333
Minor currency pairs20:15%£500
Gold20:15%£500
Major stock indices20:15%£500
Other commodities and minor indices10:110%£1,000
Shares and ETFs5:120%£2,000

For retail CFDs, the FCA caps position size at between 30:1 and 2:1 of margin. Source: FCA PS19/18, read 2 Nov 2026. Why 1:500 brokers are not UK brokers

Deposits and withdrawals

BrokerBank transferDebit or credit cardPayPalWallets and PayWithdrawal fee
ActivTrades–Not stated
Capital.com––––Free
CMC Markets–Free
eToro––Free
FxPro––Free
IC Markets––––Not stated
IG––Free
Pepperstone–Free
Plus500Free
Spreadex–Free
Trading 212–Free
Vantage––––Not stated
XTB––Free

Platforms

BrokerMT4MT5cTraderTradingViewOwn app
ActivTrades–
Capital.com–
CMC Markets––
eToro––––
FxPro
IC Markets–
IG–
Pepperstone
Plus500––––
Spreadex–––
Trading 212––––
Vantage–
XTB––––

Trader tools

Pip value

What one pip is worth in pounds.

Full pip calculator

Margin

The deposit a position ties up.

Full margin calculator

Currency converter

At the ECB reference rate of 4 Nov 2026.

Spread cost

What a spread costs over a month of trading.

Guides and explainers